time exposed photo of headlights in urban center

Leahy elected chairman of WSF board of directors

James Leahy
Cambridge College graduate student James Leahy

James M. Leahy of Holyoke, Mass. was recently elected chairman of the Westfield State Foundation Board of Directors. The Westfield State Foundation is the 501 (c)(3) organization that raises funds in support of Westfield State University.

As chair of the Foundation Board, Leahy is responsible for managing fundraising and outreach efforts, as well as advocating on behalf of the James M. Leahy Foundation throughout the community. He oversees the board's 18 members as well as its 92 corporators.

Leahy has served as a Holyoke City Councilor for more than 18 years. On the City Council, he serves as chairman of the Public Service Committee, vice chair of the Public Safety Committee, and as a member of the Finance Committee. He previously held a position in the State of Massachusetts Transportation Department.

He is also co-director of Marketing and Sponsorship for the St. Patrick's Committee of Holyoke, Inc., a non-profit organization that operates one of the largest St. Patrick's Day parades in the country. The parade, 10K road race, and accompanying events are responsible for contributing more than $20 million annually to the local economy. Leahy also served as the president/CEO of the St. Patrick's Committee, Inc. organization in 2010.

In addition to his work on the St. Patrick's Committee, Leahy has served on several other local boards including the International Volleyball Hall of Fame, Holyoke Merry Go Round, Boy's and Girl's Club of America, Holyoke Youth Soccer, the Holyoke Y.M.C.A, and Children's Museum of Holyoke.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Westfield State University and is working towards his Master of Education in Education and Corporate Training from Cambridge College. He has been a member of the Foundation board for the past three years.

In 2010, Leahy was recognized by BusinessWest as a "40 Under Forty" awardee. In 2013, he was honored by the St. Patrick's Committee with the George E. O'Connell Award for his fundraising efforts.